FIU physicists celebrate Nobel Prize for Higgs boson theory

FIU physicists celebrated the news today that the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Peter W. Higgs and François Englert for their work in developing what is now known as the Higgs field.

Awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, this year’s prize recognizes nearly five decades of work that led to a 2012 discovery of the Higgs boson, the particle linked to the mechanism that gives mass to elementary particles. In the spring of 2013, scientists with the Compact Muons Solenoid (CMS) and ATLAS experiments performed at CERN’s Large Haldron Collider confirmed the discovery.

Along with their students, FIU professors Pete E.C. Markowitz, Jorge L. Rodriguez and Stephan Linn helped design, build and operate the LHC accelerator with the CMS experiment. CMS is a general-purpose detector designed to run at the highest luminosity at the LHC, which will collide beams of high-energy protons into each other. A grant awarded to FIU’s Center for High Energy Physics Research and Education Outreach from the National Science Foundation supports this CMS collaboration.

For the full FIU News story by Ayleen Barbel Fattal, click Nobel Prize for Higgs boson.